I think I made a big oops...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vismal

Reaction score
Let me start by saying that I am very new to brewing. Two days ago I set out to brew my 3rd and 4th batch ever. The third batch was a gumballhead all extract clone recipe which is doing fine. My 4th batch, the centennial blonde all extract version may be in trouble. I made the rookie mistake of pouring hot wort in a BB carboy. It kind of morphed the shape as I did it. I filled it with the cold water portion of the recipe capped it and set it aside to ferment. I'm not sure if it actually melted or if it just warped. I thought that the pressure from fermentation might expand it back to normal shape and size. I left both batches alone and left my house for about 48 hours. Upon coming back home I found my gumballhead is bubbling away. The blonde had blown it's top :mad: I cleaned everything up and put the top back on. It has been a half hour and it is not bubbling. It smells great BTW... :D The carboy is still in it's warped shape. Did I ruin my carboy? More importantly did I ruin my beer?!?!? Either way I'm glad I have a batch of gumballhead doing well and a keg full of brown ale currently carbonating!

I've had an airlock and stopper blow off before and I just cleaned it, sanitized it, and put it back on and the beer turned out fine. With that much gas escaping from your fermenting beer not much is going to have the chance to get in there and set up shop. Chances are good the beer is fine.