Where to start in creating a recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BVilleggiante

Reaction score
I'm new to all grain brewing, have an all digital system, but to this point have only done recipes I've copied from other users. I'm ready to start creating my own recipes, but don't really know where to start since there are so many variables. That being said, how do you all start when you want to create a new recipe? Also, where do you start in modifying that recipe if you want to make changes?

Pick the style. Once you have that, you have an idea of the ingredients and the numbers. Then I just start throwing ingredients in to Beersmith to line everything up.

Why not just take recipes you know you like and tweak them a little to match your tastes? Figure out what you like and what you're going for and then taylor an already solid recipe to match it.

You need to know
  • what you want, and
  • what ingredients or processes that will provide that.

What you want
When a beer is judged by an experienced judge, he'll start by classifying according to aroma, appearance, flavor, mouthfeel, and overall drinkability. When you decide you want to make a beer, you will need to address each one of these. Each one can be manipulated by an ingredient or a brewing process.

Ingredients
Every malt has a different flavor, and might also contribute to other parts of the beer such as mouthfeel and appearance. I like what John Palmer said in his book How To Brew (he said it better in the book, but this is copied from the web):
To help get your creative juices flowing, here is a rough approximation of the recipes for the common ale styles:
Pale Ale - base malt plus a half pound of caramel malt,
Amber Ale - pale ale plus a half pound of dark caramel malt,