beer is to sweet

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cyberjoey80

Reaction score
:confused: Hi everyone. I have been brewing my own beer for a few months now after moving up from Mr. Beer. My first batch came out pretty good but since then, my last 3 batches have been to sweet. It is almost like the yeast stopped early. My newest batch (still in primary) is much more controlled. I have it in a temp controlled room at 74 and used filtered water and injected o2 as well as used a starter batch of yeast. These were things I have never done on my last few batches. Could I have messed up a complete fermentation by leaving my fermenter in my garage where temps vary from 58 to 82 degrees? I am sure my sanitation has been thourough. ANy thoughts would be greatly appreciated. I am upset I put so much work into this stuff and the end result is less than great. I always ferment in the primary for a week and put it in the secondary for 2 weeks. and always use liquid wyeast or equivalent. Thanks ahead of time.

What were the OG and IBU's? Are you using extract? It may be that you just don't have enough bitterness to counteract the sweetness if it's a fairly high gravity beer.

BEER LOG

TYPE OF BEER: Copper Lager

DATE BREWED: November 8th 2006
DATE PLACED IN 2nd FERMENTATION TANK: November 17th 2006
DATE BOTTLED:
BATCH #: 3

STARTING GRAVITY/ ENDING GRAVITY: 1.064/
BALLING STARTING/ ENDING: 15-16%/
STARTING POTENTIAL ALC/ ENDING POTENTIAL ALC: 8%/

TYPE OF GRAIN(S): 1/2 lb. Cara-Munich grain, 1/2 lb. Crystal 90 L grain, 1/2 lb. Victory grain

This is everything I did. As you can see, I forgot to take a final reading because I got excited. Thanks for any info you can provide.
TYPE OF MALT: 8lbs Pale Extract