Step Mashing with Picnic Cooler Mash/Lauter Tun

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jtrana

Reaction score
I feel like I'm missing something and I need some help. I am new to all grain (totally hooked) and getting ready to build a full scale picnic cooler mash/lauter tun. Where I am confused is in my research I see techniques for step mashing by adding new hot water directly to the mash tun (cooler). I read all the caveats about making sure your temperature calculations are right since you obviously can't add direct heat. Is there a disadvantage to doing the step mashing process with a large kettle directly on a heat source, then using the cooler only as the lauter tun during sparging? Am I losing something in the transfer? It seems simpler and more controllable, but I don't find any references on it. Single rest mashing is pretty obviously much easier directly in the cooler. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Heres my thought on this based on what I have read in Charlie Papazan's "How to Brew", Randy Mosher "Radical Brewing", and Ray Daniels "Designing Great beers"; A step mash really isnt necessary with highly modified grains available today. However I decided to try it in a recent Oktoberfest I made and its a bit of a pain in the a$$ to do it in a cooler. I think you are planning your step mash in a mash tun you can heat so it would be much easier. As long as you have a way to dump it all out without burning yourself I see no problem with sparging in your Cooler. I will be making my next Oktoberfest using a single infusun mash, will see if theres any difference.