new 'hybrid' build - help me pre-troubleshoot

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

twardnw

Reaction score
So I've been brewing extract batches for ~2 years, and they are definitely improving, but I am moving into AG now. Scored a couple of 1/2 bbls kegs and 2 propane burners, and then began ordering other bits and pieces.

The idea behind my system. I live in a rental house, and there is no convincing the landlord that I 'need' a 240v 30amp outlet in the garage. So, that outs going 100% electric. I also do not have the patience to wait for a 1500w element to bring 5+ gallons of water up to temp in my HLT.

Enter the 'hybrid' system. HLT will be propane and electric powered. I will use propane to do the 'heavy lifting' and get the water from tap-temp up to ~150 manually, and then switch over to PID controlled 120v 1500w element to bring the water to temp, and maintain.

I then have a 60qt igloo cube (their 'marine' one) for my MLT, and the final keg is to be the BK, entirely propane heated.

Don't have money for pumps right now, so I am building a 3-tier sculpture.

Here's a wiring diagram of my control box:
control%20panel%20wiring.png

Spot any problems?

Hmmm... So you are going to mash in a cooler, correct?

I don't see the need for a PID just to get strike water up to temp. The PID would be useful if you were going to recirculate in a RIMS type setup. Unless you are going RIMS there's very little need for the PID and Element.

Alternately, you could go all electric with two 2000w elements as heat sticks.

But there's little point in making heat sticks if you have two propane burners.

Hmmm... So you are going to mash in a cooler, correct?