Cooling Wort?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vista04

Reaction score
I'm fairly new to home brewing and I currently don't do much of anything to cool my wort down. Should I? I know there is potential for bacteria to start to grow, but is the taste going to change if I start cooling it down quicker?

I'm currently thinking of making or buying a copper immersion cooler. Does anyone have any experience making their own immersion cooler and mind telling me if they thought it was worth the effort and time to make one?

Also, anyone have any other solutions to cooling down wort?

Thanks

Vista04 said:
I'm fairly new to home brewing and I currently don't do much of anything to cool my wort down. Should I? I know there is potential for bacteria to start to grow, but is the taste going to change if I start cooling it down quicker?

I'm currently thinking of making or buying a copper immersion cooler. Does anyone have any experience making their own immersion cooler and mind telling me if they thought it was worth the effort and time to make one?

Also, anyone have any other solutions to cooling down wort?

Thanks

Throw an 8 pound bag of ice in your primary. It will cause a nice, quick break which will make for a clearer beer. Otherwise, get creative and make a wort chiller.

Personally, I like the ice method. Far less extra equipment to clean.

Cheesefood said:
Throw an 8 pound bag of ice in your primary. It will cause a nice, quick break which will make for a clearer beer. Otherwise, get creative and make a wort chiller.

Personally, I like the ice method. Far less extra equipment to clean.