How fast can a Krausen disappear?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sevric

Reaction score
I'm a complete newb to home brewing and this is my first post on the forum, though I've been lurking around for a couple weeks trying to educate myself on brewing :)

I had been talking about buying some beer brewing supplies when my brother gave me a Mr. Beer kit he got from a garage sale. My first thought was well, not what I was thinking when I wanted a kit, but it might be fun. None of the ingredients were expired, barely, but I went out and bought some new yeast just to be on the safe side.

I followed the directions relatively closely, cooled the wort down in some ice before adding it to the Mr. Beer fermenter, and pitched my yeast when it was dropped down to 85 F, and hand aerated with a sterilized spoon. Then it was stored in my basement where it has a constant 68F.

I used the West Coast Pale Ale from Mr. Beer with about 8g Nottinghams Brewers Yeast (a bit to much perhaps?)

I wasn't able to check on it for about 80 hours, and when I did I saw no Krausen, though shining a flashlight in through the plastic I could see a little patch of bubbles floating in the middle of the fermenter. 8hrs later. Still no change.

Cutting to the chase, could my Krausen have come and gone in that 1st 80 hrs? Or do I just need to re-pitch some different yeast? Or am I just having 1st home brew panic?

I want to open the top and check for more evidence, but I'm afraid my funky old basement might contaminate the batch.