Woops - I added malto-dextrin instead of dextrose

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brewtorius

Reaction score
I've been brewing for 22 years and made a bonehead mistake yesterday. When picking up the incredients for a Pliney the Elder clone brew recipe, I bought malto-dextrin instead of corn sugar. The recipe called for 0.4lbs of corn suger and what I added to the boil was .5 lbs of malto-dextrin. From what I've read about malto-dextrin, all it's going to do is add body to my beer (I don't know if a double IPA needs that much body).

The recipe says the OG should be 1.070. I ended up with 1.058 - probably because of the unfermentable malto-dextrin. I pitched the yeast about 16 hours ago and when I checked a few hours ago, it was bubbling away. I'm thinking about buying some corn sugar to add to the primary fermenter. Should I bother? This was an expensive batch of beer with all the hops I had to buy. I'd hate to see it turn out less than optimal.

Boy, that stinks. MD will "thicken" the beer, giving plenty of body. I guess that wouldn't be very good, especially in a Pliny clone. I guess I would boil up some dextrose in a small amount of water, cool and then add.

1.058 seems low, even with MD instead of corn sugar. What was the malt bill?

1.25 pounds of corn sugar in 5 gallons would increase the OG by 11 points, giving you a new OG of 1.069.

On a not-really-related side note, my son used slightly more MD than usual in his root beer recipe. He made root beer Jell-0. So, I'd definitely add some corn sugar to help increase the ABV, and to possibly make up for the MD and the "thickening" it brings. I don't know how much MD is too much, since I've never used it in beer. Maybe someone who has can give some better advice.