start boiling during sparge?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

skidaddytn

Reaction score
I've only done 2 ag batches and have not built up much in the way of pots or equipment yet. I use a 7.5 gallon bayou classic turkey fryer for the boil, and a SS 5 gallon pot inside on the stove to heat the strike & sparge water...

If I complete the entire sparge before starting a boil, it takes that 55,000 btu turkey fryer nearly 45 minutes to bring it from 150-170 to boil... I can't imagine how long it would take to boil 6.5 gallons of cold tap water in the thing, but I sure would not have the patience. My flame looks blue, but I'm no expert on adjusting it for maximum heat. I try to adjust it so the blue flame can be seen barely jumping the bottom edge of the pot. Any suggestions here? Or should I be getting ahead of the game by starting to heat it while the sparge is only partially done?

I start heating my runnings once I have around a gallon collected and by the time I am at my boil volume I am not far from the boil. I have read many places to not waste any time and just start heating, it's not going to hurt anything. Remember the boil is to reduce the volume through evaporation concentrating your sugars and caramelizing the flavors and some other business with the protiens, but it won't hurt anything.

You may also want to consider upgrading to a high pressure regulator, like a 10 psi if you want to generate more btus and get a boil much quicker.

You may also want to consider upgrading to a high pressure regulator, like a 10 psi if you want to generate more btus and get a boil much quicker.