Keezer: Converting a GE 5.0Cu (Model # FCM5SUWW) using a Converter from AHS

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sjzabel

Reaction score
When I was looking to do a conversion I wanted to know exactly what make fridge worked with which temp controls... hence this post.

Prelog... YMMV; I have had this working only a single night now... so any long term problems or damage will have to be addressed in later posts.

Playing with freezers/electricity can kill you, start fires and ruin good beer... I am not a certified electrician therefore copy at your own risk. bla bla bla

Ok to the fun stuff. (Make sure to read my 2nd post... having some problems with the temp controller)

- PARTS -
First the freezer:

GE 5.0 Cu. Ft. Manual Defrost Chest Freezer
Model # FCM5SUWW Internet/Catalog # 100598976
Store SKU # 146360 Store SO SKU # 146360
$168.00/EA-Each (at the Depot)

Second the controller:

Freezer to Refrigerator Converter (Thermostat) [05259]
$39.99 (at Austin Homebrew Supply)

- INSTALLATION -
(DO NOT IN ANY WAY HAVE THE FREEZER PLUGGED IN)
This is not a perfect drop in replacement. However, it was pretty easy, seemingly non destructive and appears to work.

1. Remove the side vent panel and front control panel. There are screws on the side panel; once that is open you can get to three clips at the top(inside) of the of control panel. Depress the clips and give a little wiggle and it should pop out with very little pressure.

2. Remove the existing control (without breaking it :p)