Porter Recipe, thoughts?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thenbagis

Reaction score
Hey... I'm a fair newbie. I just bottled my first batch (an ESB) and am planning my second batch. I know I am being ambitious in creating my own recipes, but I figured it's half fun and a good way to learn the ingredients.

I'm real interested in making a brown porter. I was maybe even thinking of a "mocha" porter but with coffee and choco malts not actual coffee & cocoa.

Here's the recipe, I'm thinking right now:
Malts:
Light DME 5 lb
Caramel 60L 1lb
Coffee Malt 0.5lb
Chocolate Malt 0.5lb
Black patent 0.25lb

Hops:
Northern Brewer Pellets (8.1%) 1oz @60
Kent Golding Pellets (4.5%) 1oz @30
Fuggle Pellets (3.8%) 1oz @ 15

Yeast:
Safale S-04 or maybe Windsor

Details:
OG: 1.048
IBU: 36

What do you all think?

Thanks!

If this is your own recipe you're light years ahead of where I was at that stage. It wasn't until my second batch until I knew what gravities were.

Starting with the grain bill it looks solid to me. I would be tempted to skip black patent. With the chocolate malt you will already be plenty dark.

I'm not a hophead, but my porter bitters with 1 ounce NB so I wouldn't change that.

I've never used Windsor but I've heard bad things on the board. My porter uses Nottingham and I have found that adequate. If you've used Windsor before and been happy though, by all means continue.

ha, thanks... I've read through How to Brew a few times.... I'm a big researcher.

I'll consider removing the black patent. I wasn't sure about it to begin with. It was kind of a last minute adjustment.