Coopers Lager Kit Question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zyx345

Reaction score
I'm a complete beginner to home brewing and just bought the Coopers Microbrewery kit. I mostly drink hoppy beers like IPAs and American Style Pale Ales.

I'm on the fence with scrapping the Lager kit and just buying their IPA kit as I don't want 5 gallons of beer that I would not enjoy.

I've heard that I could add hops to it but I'm not entirely sure what kind of hops and at which stage to add them in.

Can anyone who has brewed the Lager kit per the instrutions comment on how the the end result tastes?

Is there any commercial beer that it is similar to? i.e. Fosters, Miller Lite, etc.

Hi, I brewed that and even have 1 bottle left. It was my first time and before I joined here, so I did it purely by the instructions. Plus based off of youtube videos like CraigTube's.

I really liked how the beer came out and after it had aged a couple of weeks in the bottle. And that was even fermenting in the mid 70's and bottling after only 8 days. I have my notes right here actually. Original gravity was 1040, final gravity was 1011. It was cidery when first bottled, but it disappeared completely after a short time in the bottle.

If you ferment it closer to mid 60's and leave it in there 2 weeks before bottling (and after checking the gravity to confirm it's done) it'll probably be better.

I liked the taste of it personally, but I havent had too many commercial beers to compare it to. But I would call it a nice beer to have cold, and you can easily have a few. It's not heavy, not too strong in anything. Which is why they include it in the kit in my opinion, since it should have a wide appeal.