first timer, looking for advice

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chef_toby

Reaction score
I finnally found a place that sells apple cider that can be made hard and placed an order for 5 gallons. However I've never tried to make hard cider before so I'm unsure of how different it is than brewing. The cider will come treated already (no preservatives or heat sterilization) and should be good to go. This process in question seems to use an electric current to kill anything bad in it.

Talking with a few of the cooks at the restaurant they seem to favor the open lid and let it go method. I'm gonna go with the 6gal carboy and yeast method. But looking around the cidder forum I keep seeing "campden tablets." Are they a cidering inside trick or what?

In any case my plan of attack was to simply get the cider to room temp; take a reading; aerate it a while, pitch the yeast and put an airlock on it, then see what happens for about a week. I am planning to bottle it so the next question is should I use the 5oz of priming sugar or not considering how much sugar is in fruit?

I have a few days before the cider gets pressed, but when it comes in I'm gonna do it asap.