Keg is dispensing foamy beer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pgenius

Reaction score
I'm new to kegging and have just kegged my first batch (IPA). I force carbonated at 30 psi for two days and have now purged the co2 and repressurized at 6 psi to dispense. The beer is at 55 degree F because it's in my basement. Any ideas why its pouring such a foam? I also don't understand how to get my beer to 2.0 volumes of co2. This carbonation calculator tells me that if my beer is at 55 degrees, to pressurize to 13.5 psi. http://tinyurl.com/yeswj4n Is that to dispense it or to set as a pressure for several days. I'm very confused, please help.

Cheers!
:mug:

How long of a dispensing line do you have? The longer the better. I use 10-ft lines and sometimes have the same problem. Maybe you are a little overcarbed. I just bleed the pressure before the pour and it works for me.

How long of a dispensing line do you have? The longer the better. I use 10-ft lines and sometimes have the same problem. Maybe you are a little overcarbed. I just bleed the pressure before the pour and it works for me.

Yea my line is 10-ft. The beer tastes like it could be carbonated more to make it more crisp. But I'm getting 1 inch of beer and the rest foam on every pour. It goes away, but it takes several minutes. My lines are clean to so that doesn't have anything to do with it. Should I force carbonate at say 30 psi for another day, purge, and then try pouring? Would that make the beer taste more carbonated and reduce my foaming issues?