Best inexpensive grain mill

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jplowe

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Could I get a few commercial grain mills to compare from the homebrewtalk community? I just started brewing all grain and I think buying one big bag of non crushed grain would last longer and save me some cash. I'm not looking for farm equipment, just an inexpensive grain mill more or less around 100 dollar mark.

Thanks!

The industrial farm units go for $10.00 in Canada because people just buy them for scrap value. Thimnk about it!! Go to a farm auction and you might get it for less!!

Lots of people hate on them but I have had great luck with my $20 corona mill with maybe $10 in modifications

I also use a $20 Corona mill with a few modifications to make it drill powered and a good catcher for the grain. It works so well that I don't plan on upgrading to a better one any time soon.

Not sure what you mean by "Commercial". What we homebrewers are using are industrial grade and will last many 10's of thousands of pounds of malt going through them.

the best inexpensive mill I know if is what I bought, the Barley Crusher Malt Mill. It was around $120 with the hopper attached and I've run over 1,000 lbs through it with no issues whatsoever.
http://www.homebrewing.org/product....m=ProductAds&gclid=CPie4-bmj8UCFWoV7AodNwQAOA

I drive mine with a low speed drill and I can mill 25 lbs in about 10 minutes.

Not sure if having a bag of bulk grain will last any longer, sort of works the opposite for me.