First-Timer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TEND

Reaction score
Okay everyone, I am just getting into this hobby and I've tried reading up as much as I can and within the next week I'm going to attempt my first brew. So I'm just going to run by what I think are the general steps, now please give me some tips, critique, anything that has been forgotten in what I've read.
So, first things first, make sure everything is clean, and sanitized.
Next, boil 2 gallons of water, and put it into the fermentation bucket, and than boil 3 more for the wort. Next you kill the heat and stir in the DME, turn the heat back on and add the hops and boil for an hour. After the hot break remove the heat and cool the wort.
Now you add the yeast into the fermentation bucket, followed by the cooled wort. Now you seal the fermentation bucket and let it sit for around two weeks. After this you mix your priming solution and the beer into a bottling bucket. Bottle the beer, and leave it to sit for about another two weeks. After this it's about ready to serve.

Now I'm sure I'm missing stuff, I'm sure there are many variations, and I would like as much advice as possible. I didn't really read anything about secondary, which I've heard a lot about here, so if anyone could tell me about that, I would appreciate it. Any tips to avoid disaster, or anything else you feel I should know would be greatly appreciated.

That sounds like the basic routine. I'd add having an extra gallon or two of preboiled, cooled water; after you boil your 3 gallons for an hour, you'll come up short. Also having a bucket of sanitizer sitting around is always helpful.

Sounds good to me. catfish's advice is very good as well.