Did I oxidize my beer?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fsmthx

Reaction score
Hi guys, im a newbie and I think I f up my beer last night.

I was in the process of dry hopping getting my beer from primary to secondary (this is after 7 days in primary) and everything went smoothly until I notice that I was going to be short (my secondary had a little bit under 2 inches before the carboy curves on the top).

So I thought, "why don't I shake it to get some CO2 going and getting rid of the excessive head......." and yes, it bubble a little bit.

Then I do a little bit of reading, and yep, probably I got the O2 mixed with my wort while doing my shaking.

Damn it!,

Any experience with this? any chance my beer will turn out fine?

Thanks guys.

Great forum.

-F.

Hi guys, im a newbie and I think I f up my beer last night.

I was in the process of dry hopping getting my beer from primary to secondary (this is after 7 days in primary) and everything went smoothly until I notice that I was going to be short (my secondary had a little bit under 2 inches before the carboy curves on the top).

So I thought, "why don't I shake it to get some CO2 going and getting rid of the excessive head......." and yes, it bubble a little bit.

Then I do a little bit of reading, and yep, probably I got the O2 mixed with my wort while doing my shaking.

Relax dude, you are fine. Even when being extremely careful, think about how much oxygen the beer is exposed to when bottling. Should you slide your carboy on a skateboard amd throw it down the stairs? No. But a little bit of shaking isn't going to ruin your beer. I pick up buckets and carboys full of beer all the time and I'm sure it sloshes around a bit.