Skipping 2nd fermintation carboy--straight to keg. Couple newb questions.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cswann821

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I just wanted some re-assurance on a plan of mine.

First off... I am still getting into brewing and am only on my 2nd batch. My first 5gal batch was great. I brewed a Hef-Weizen from northern brewers. Fermented for about 2 weeks, and let it set in a secondary for about 3 more weeks before keging it and tap.
Anways my second time around I decide to go quantity, brewing 5 gal of carabou slobber, 5 gal irish ale, and 5 gal honey weizen. They have been in the fermentaion carboy since the 9th of January. I am out of spare carboy's to place any of them into a secondary. Is it fine to just place them in my 3 Corny Kegs, purge the air out with the CO2 and just let it set in their to age, or drink in about a week or so? I'm plaing of just lifting my carboys, up ...letting it set so that any debri can settle and just siphon to the corny.

This is all. Plan sounds good to me. just wanted re-assurance on the whole importance or unimportance of useing a secondary...and how long these can sit in a corny refridgerated...or not?

Thats all, Thanks.... Chris.