Chilling question...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RachEAlex

Reaction score
I am new to brewing and was wondering the following...I don't have a wort chiller and it seems to take a long time to cool the wort in an ice bath...so my question is, if I throw the wort into a freezer for a bit, would that work or is that, as I suspect, a bad idea?

as long as it is covered in a sanitized container I dont see a problem with this. However it will take your freezer quit a while to cool it down. You could use the no chill method, where you brew, put in the sanitized fermenter, let it set overnight, then pitch yeast in the morning.

I was able to get the ice bath method to work pretty well before I went to full boils. I would buy one of the large bags of ice from the gas station, put a little water in the bottom of the sink (just for good contact on the bottom), then put the pot in the sink and ice around the pot. I'd then lightly stir the wort every few minutes, and anytime the ice level went down, I'd top it off. With 3 gallon boils I was getting it down to 80 degrees in about 20-25 minutes.

Stirring is the key, I think.

I tried cooling a 3.5 gal batch outside once; it was -10°, with a breeze. It took 2.5 hrs to cool to 80°. :(
I now have a wort chiller.:)

Sorry but I don't think a freezer is going to be better than an ice bath. Air is a horrible conductor of heat and your freezer is not designed to pump out an incredible amount of heat.
Many times I will put a large container of food in the fridge/freezer and its still warm an hour later.

If you do not do a full boil, then pour ice cold water into your brew kettle. Actually, fill a plastic container full of ice and then put that chunk of ice into your kettle.

Science lesson for you guys: