Attenuation Problems

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jar1087

Reaction score
Hi Everyone!

My roommate and I started brewing about two months ago and just racked our third beer (a kölsch) into a corny for lagering. As we were doing so, we took a gravity reading and lo and behold, we again did not get the attenuation that we were looking for.

All three of our beers (an IPA, a Hefeweizen and the kölsch) have not attenuated as fully as we would have liked. The Hefeweizen and IPA finished at the same time, so we used basically the same procedure for both, before finding out that our attenuation was lacking. We used a starter for both, different yeasts and shook to aerate. We figured that the best thing to do to improve attenuation would be to use a larger starter and aerate better. So we decided to make a larger starter (1 gallon), which we aerated using a diffusion stone and allowed to come to peak activity for pitching. We then pitched the yeast cake (from the starter) and most of the starter and aerated for about an hour.

I'm really not sure what else we can do to improve attenuation, so I'm looking for suggestions. Thanks for the help!

And before you ask, here are the relevant stats on the three beers:

IPA
OG: 1.062
FG: 1.016
Target FG: 1.010
Attenuation: 74.2%
Fermentation Temp: ~68F
Primary: 8 Days
Secondary: 13 Days
Yeast: White Labs English Ale Yeast

Hefeweizen
OG: 1.052
FG: 1.020
Target FG: 1.016
Attenuation: 61.5%
Fermentation Temp: ~68F
Primary: 7 Days
Secondary: None
Yeast: White Labs German Hefeweizen

Kölsch
OG: 1.043
FG: 1.014
Target FG: 1.009
Attenuation: 67.4%
Fermentation Temp: ~60F
Primary: 20 Days
Secondary/Lagering: TBD
Yeast: White Labs German Kölsch