Beer Criticism

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shattstar03

Reaction score
Not sure if this thread belongs in this section but I'm putting it because I'm a newbie.

I learned how to brew a few months ago and just completed a red ale, I offered the beer to a few friends and they said it tasted great. The only criticism I received was that it was a bit weak but overall it was a good first beer.

However, I took the beer to a friend who actually taught me how to brew and he called it the worst beer he ever had. He said, he wouldn't drink it again if I paid him to drink it (and he was serious). He complained the beer had a effervescent smell and it was over-carbonated. He somewhat insinuated that I toss the beer out because it might contaminated (He also brewed his own version of the red, same ingredients etc and he said his beer came out the best he ever had).

My beer is not sour, I didn't notice any off-flavors nor did anyone else who tried my beer. I thought the aroma was a product of dry-hopped centennials, he thought that my beer might've been contaminated because there were some yeast rafts. There was no fungus or anything in my carboy, everything was as clean as a preacher's sheets.

Not going to lie, I was pretty hurt by the criticism, perhaps I'm venting out. So my questions are and rather basic:

How did you guys take your first criticism of your beer? How do you respond to someone who completely trashes your beer? Has it happened to you? Should I be worried to offer someone else my beer, such as a professor or a colleague?

In what ways, do you determine whether or not your beer is good or bad? Thanks a lot guys.

If you like it, drink it. Find some others who homebrew and offer it to them to taste/critique.