Never brewed a beer before in my life, but am excited about starting!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BrookdaleBrew

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I'm completely new to this idea but the inspiration hit me today and I'm really excited to get started. A few months back I went to a local beer festival with anywhere from 75 to 100 breweries there and I believe that's where the seeds for this got planted. I tried so many excellent beers that day and I figure if I put my mind to it, I can make something just as good.

I want my first brew to be a hoppy ale along the lines of Rogue's Dead Guy or Stone's Arrogant Bastard. Would you guys suggest getting one of these kits for a first timer? Like I said, I've never done this before and who knows if it's something I'll stick with, so I don't want to sink a lot of money into it right away, but I'll definitely give it the old college try.

What are your suggestions for a total newbie?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Give it a shot. You will be hooked. I am brewing the Arrogant Bastard clone from Austin Homebrew tomorrow. I'm sure it would be good as they are a great supplier. If you are unsure then pick up the extract or mini-mash kit. They also sell basic brewing kits for about $75. This will get you started. Just keep reading more on this site and/or book like "How to Brew". Before you know you'll bee a pro and boring all your friend with mindless beer knowledge.

Hello everyone,