Why I started brewing again

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sweetchuck

Reaction score
I stated in my intro post, I'm veteran brewer that's been out of the craft for 15 or 20 years.

Why I got back into it?

I really enjoyed it back then but got away from it when kids came along. Not sure why though, I probably should have kept up with it. Kids are older now but I have a 7yr old now who's nickname is "whoops" and he's more into this project than I am seemingly.

Anyway, I still drink beer and back then craft beers, micros were few and far between. They're everywhere now and that's what irks me a little. It seems that micros and brew pubs equate quality with over-hopping. Can't tell you how many beers I've tried that were so far out of the style that they claim to be. I'm not a snob, don't get me wrong but if I order a pale ale, I want a pale ale - not battery acid which is what I wind up getting more often than not.

If I want hoppy, I get the IPA and I don't know anyone who brews a true pils.

You're going to get a certain portion of people who know styles that buy what they like, but for the most part those establishments are selling "different" stuff to people who just want "different stuff" and are willing to pay for it.

That's my story, comments welcomed.

I'm with ya, Chuck! I'm tired of paying $9 a 4 pack only to be disappointed. There are so few craft brewers who make a balanced brew. And, the wife was complaining about the high cost of keeping decent beer for the kegerator. So after a 7 year hiatus, I'm back to brewing my own too.