First Hefeweizen, first keg.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

luski09

Reaction score
Hello, this is my first time kegging, and force carbonating. I've read countless posts on what to do, and what pressures and volumes of Co2 are appropriate. But I'm still confused.

I want to use the "set and forget" method, because my Hefe will need time to age anyways, so I'm not in a rush to get into it.

My mini fridge is staying at ~40-42º, and what i understand is a Hefeweizen needs about 3 volumes of Co2.

I set my regulator to 20PSI and left it in the mini fridge, now my question is how long does it take to absorb all the Co2, and could leaving it in longer potentially over carbonate the beer?

I appreciate all help.

-Luca

A general rule of thumbs is "about one week". As for aging a hefe-weizen, "you're doing it all wrong, son". In my book, hefe's are made to be drunk as fresh as can be!

Set-it and forget it will require that you measure your out-line carefully when you're at such a high volume. There are formulas out there to help you with that.

M_C

My reg in my fridge is set to 20PSI. From my experience, a good two weeks will yield a nicely carbed and aged hefe.

I also concur with Luca... hefe should be drank young. However, I've found that mine benefit from 2-3 weeks in the fridge.

I would crank the PSI up to 55-60 for 24 hours, then dial it back to 11-13 PSI or so (what ever the chart says for your temp/volumes desired). Your carb will stabilize and should be close to perfect in 5 days.

Be sure to take off your taps or party taps when you crank up to 60 psi.

Hmm, some a little advice from both sides.