Kegerator compressor running 24/7?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Eigenbrau

Reaction score
I'm new to the mini-fridge world, and I noticed that the compressor is running 24 hours a day. Does anyone else have this? I know large refrigerators go on and off, but haven't had experience with the little guys.

I would think that a small kegerator with full kegs in it would hardly ever kick on. I have not really paid a lot of attention to mine to see how much it is actually running, but I do know that when I have walked over to it to get a pint or swap a keg or whatever, I have never found it running. I think mine rarely turns on unless I have the door open for a while.

Thanks for the quick reply. It looks like the thermostat may be blown then. I've got a Johnson on the way to override the stock job, hopefully that will alleviate the problem.

Thanks for the quick reply. It looks like the thermostat may be blown then. I've got a Johnson on the way to override the stock job, hopefully that will alleviate the problem.

Depends on what your problem is.

Is the thing getting cold? If it is running all the time it should be getting REALLY cold in there, possibly into the freezing temp range.

I would put a thermometer in there and check it every hor or so to see what temp you have. If your compressor is on it's deathbed and not keeping the fridge cold enough to trip the thermostat, the the Johnson controller isn't going to fix anything.

Depends on what your problem is.

Is the thing getting cold? If it is running all the time it should be getting REALLY cold in there, possibly into the freezing temp range.