Looking to brew an old ale with some Brett character

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jfr1111

Reaction score
I've never done a wild/sour beer, but I brew a strong keeping ale every year so I have the basis of big beer brewing down (aeration, pitch rate, etc.). I don't actually keep any, but that's another motivation for brewing a beer that absoltely needs to mature, to teach me patience.

My plan is to brew a basic 1.090 strong ale with MO, biscuit and a touch of crystal, secondary it for a bunch (maybe with oak ?), bottle and keep for the following years.

Now, as I said, I've never done a wild/sour beer before, altough I've had some. I'm looking at some mild, fruity Brett character and next to no sourness. Basically, just some underlying funk. I would prefer no phenolic character.

What's my best course for action ? Pitch a normal sacc strain and then pitch brett in the secondary ? If so, what Brett strain ?

I also see that wyeast has their old ale strain coming out as a seasonal, but I've read after searching that it is not mild and can give a phenolic, belgian character. Any way to alleviate that ?

Finally, how do you bottle and plan on keeping Brett beers for many years ? Wait a whole bunch until gravity is really stable and then plan on the brett carbonating the bottles or do you add fresh yeast ?

So many questions !