Fermentation questions for new brewer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mikeysab

Reaction score
I'm very new to brewing. So new that my first brew (extract: coopers lager) tastes like sucking on a stack of pennies, although after 2 weeks of bottle conditioning, it has tamed a lot. I realize that my mistake with the first batch was temperature. It was too high, and although I was able to cool it with some flexible tubing, a wet saw pump, and homemade ice, it never stayed constant, and kept going toward the upper limit. Also, it sat in the fermenter for 11 days at high temp because I didn't know how to use my hydrometer, which is another question i'll save for the end. I've read a lot of these posts about most of the process, and even read a book about home brewing. I've got a lot of stuff floating around in my head, and I even understand some of it. One of the things I can't get a grasp of is fermentation times, or more specifically, fermenter times. I understand how temp plays a role in fermentation times, and yeast plays a role in fermentation times, but I can't get a grasp on how long to keep my brew in the fermenter. So my first question is this: