Yeast starter too early?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

winvarin

Reaction score
I plan on brewing a 1.063 stout this Saturday. After consulting mrmalty.com, I am going to make a 1200ml starter using the 10/1 ratio suggested in Brewing Classic Styles. I'm using WLP002 with a best by date of May. I'll be putting 2 vials of WLP002 in and using a stir plate.

I want to give the starter time to ferment out completely and then cold crash it before brew day. I am trying to decide whether to make the starter tonight (Tuesday) after work and cold crash as soon as ferment ends. Or (Wednesday) after work and hope that cold crashing no later than Friday night will be OK.

I have limited experience with large starters. So a couple of questions:

1. If I do it tonight and it's fermented out by, say Thursday, is 48 hours too long in the fridge before I brew with it? Or is it OK (I mean, it's stored cold, right?)

2. If I can't get the flask in for cold crashing until Friday night, and I plan to pitch late afternoon Saturday, will that give me enough time to have the yeast drop out of suspension so I can pour off some of the starter beer?

For one I dont think you need to pitch 2 vials in a 1.2L starter for a 1.06 beer....
I would use one. A stir plate double to triples the amound of yeast made. so you will be fine.

Also I wouldn't worry about cold crashing for an ale, just make it friday and pitch on Sat.

But if you realllly want to cold crash make it Wed. Crash Fri. night.

The less yeast pitched into a starter the more yeast you actually reproduce. pitching 200billion yeast into 1.2L wouldn't really grow much yeast at all.

In my relatively limited experience: