Greetings from Maine

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Maine Homebrewer

Reaction score
Hello all,
Believe it or not some of us in Maine don't eat lobster. Lobster beer, I wonder... Eww, nevermind...

Anyway, I'm always ready to learn something new or add my knowledge to a discussion, assuming I have knowledge to add.

I've been brewing for 8 years or so, the last three have been all grain and the last two I've been kegging.

In the course of trial, error, and applying answers to questions (temperature is the key), I've gone from 60% to well over 80% efficiency from my grain, and I have yet to have anyone other than a Coors Light drinker insult my beer.

Anyway, until I become a professional at this I've got something to learn, and even then I'll still keep learning.

BTW, anyone in Maine want to swap hops I've got a pound of Challenger for open swapping, and Kent Goldings that I'll only trade for Chinook.

Welcome to this awesome board ... no question is too challenging for this great support group !

I went to camp at Kiev on lake damorscota (sp?)

Frink, Auburn area.

kappclark, never been there but they tell me it's nice.

bradsul, thank you. The last forum I tried was all about a software package (Beer Smith), and while the people seemed pretty cool the Q&A was more about using the software to make a recipe than what I would call homebrewing.
I find I learn more from experimenting and making mistakes than from plugging numbers into a computer program.
Especially since I write software for a living.
This is an art, not a science.