First batch made yesterday, very thick wort?!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LifeTree

Reaction score
So I am brand new to homebrewing and have been fascinated with it recently. I got all the equipment and picked out an IPA recipe that they had at the store.

The recipe called to bring 1 1/2 gallons to boil. It also called to add the dry and liquid malt extract into the boil after 40 mins. At 40 mins much of the water was evaperated and adding the malt extract made it very thick. Boil for another 20 mins and the wort turned out to be almost like molases. Recipe called for the wort to be cooled then poured into fermentor. I couldnt exactly pour the wort since its so thick but I managed it into the carboy. Then it said to top of wort with water to 5 gal. Well there was roughly a gallon of wort so I added 4 gal of water. Water mixed somewhat with wort but there is a very thick layer of it on bottom. I pitched with dry yeast.

I am at 15 hours after pitching yeast I am yet to see activity of fermention. So I am all not sure if this is working or if it has been a fail. I did not take hydrometer reading of the wort because it was so thick, hydromotor probably wouldnt even sink into it. If it took the reading of the water I added, I dont know how accuarate that would be since all the wort is really sitting on the bottom.

So looking back now I shouldnt have followed their recipe exactly how it was written. Adding more water to the boil would have helped. I also could have probably stired the extract better as it was added.

Anyone have any insights or suggestions?