Kegging and Bottling

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vismich

Reaction score
Hi all,

I've been brewing for 6 months and have what I'm sure is a common dilemma. I hate bottling beer, but I love that enables me to have a variety that I can take places with me.

I'm thinking about kegging, but have a question..

Can I bottle after I keg?

Do I need to keep kegs cold once I tap them or can I have several kegs where I tap them to pour growlers?

Thanks

Yes, there are ways to bottle stuff that comes out of a keg.

Cheap way: Biermuncher's cheapo beer gun substitute (about $10) - there's a sticky for how to build it in this section of HBT

More expensive way: Blichmann beer gun. About $70-$90 for everything you'll need.

With the proper equipment you can bottle from a keg. You just have to have pearlick faucets. Check out the Bowie bottler on this site for more info on that.

As far as warm kegging then chilling in growlers. CO2 diffusion rates are a function of temp. The colder the solution the more CO2 can be dissolved at a given pressure. So while it is possible to carbonate warm beer you will most likely not have the best results.

If you do start kegging, go big. Get the largest chest freezer you can fit in ur house garage basement front porch ect... You will not regret it. I can have 4 beers drinking, 2 carbing, and 2 buckets cold crashing. It makes managing your pipeline much much easier!

Cheers
JP-