I need help with picking out LME

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gsmith12

Reaction score
So I'm pretty new to brewing beer (4 brews to date), and I need some help. I've been looking at cloning a Westy 12, after some research I need light/pale (pref pale) LME, and Pilsner LME. I need 6.6lbs of each, which I know will be expensive.

My question is..Which brand has a Pale and Pilsner LME? or which extract would be comparable the Pale and Pilsner LME? I'm sorry if this question is difficult to understand, like I said, I'm still new at everything! Thanks for all the help guys!

I follow your question, except for this part:

Which brand has a Pale and Pilsner LME? or which extract would be comparable the Pale and Pilsner LME?

LME is an extact. Pretty much every brand is going to carry a 2-row (sometimes called pale, sometimes light) and a pilsner LME (sometimes called extra light). As long as it is from a reputable maltster, I think all of the major brands are fine. Most important thing will be to get it fresh.

Haha thanks MalFet, I didn't think I was making sense when I wrote it either.

I get it now, I've been looking for an extract that says Pilsner or Pale specifically, when really it's been in front of me the entire time.

Would Muntons Connoisseurs Range Pilsner extract be okay for the Belgium Westy 12 clone I want to do, with say the Muntons Light Liquid Malt Extract as well? Any extract brands you recommend with a Pale Malt or Pilsner malt?

Haha thanks MalFet, I didn't think I was making sense when I wrote it either.

I get it now, I've been looking for an extract that says Pilsner or Pale specifically, when really it's been in front of me the entire time.