IPA still fermenting at a month and a half...was there too little yeast?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Yardwork

Reaction score
This is my first time posting on this forum. I just started home brewing and my first try was a Ruination IPA clone that called for ten lbs of light malt extract, 1lb 2-row, 1lb Crystal 20L with 2.5 oz. Magnum hops for bittering and 1.5 oz. Centennial for finishing and California liquid yeast (calls for dry hopping too but I'm not sure if I am going to try that...or if its too late at this point). I followed the instructions for a 60 minute boil I cooled the batch and mixed it in a 5 gallon carboy with additional water and pitched the yeast. However, when I opened the yeast jar it fizzed up and I lost some of the vile.

Just wondering if now after fermenting for a month and a half if something went wrong (too little yeast?) or if I'm still okay. The batch is still letting off a bubble about every 25 -27 seconds.

If too little yeast seems like it might be the problem can someone explain how this works because I thought the yeast multiplied until they reached the optimal level so how could you have too little yeast to start...wouldn't they just multiply? Anyway, they batch took a day and a half before any bubbles appeared but eventually started fermenting to the point the blow off tube was used.

I'm fine with letting the batch keep brewing until the bubbles stop and it clarifies but if its ruined I'd probably rather start over now.

Thanks for any insight.

What temperature are you fermenting at? Can you take a gravity? How does it smell? If all is good, let it go. Fermentation takes longer at temps below optimum. California Ale likes 66-70, again; the colder side will take longer.