How much dry/liquid malt

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brew4allMI

Reaction score
I am a beginner homebrewer but am attempting to formulate my own recipe. I am attempting to create an American pale ale with the use of grapefruit peel. I have researched some recipes, but, am wanting to build my own. I am using grain, how do I figure out how much dme/lme to use if any. What are the calculations for this?

yeah, i agree with getting some software. it really helps with formulating recipes. do some reading too, look at the BJCP guidelines for the style you're putting together, and don't hesitate to look at known recipes for some guidelines. when i first started putting recipes together, i used the recipe guideline chart in The Complete Joy.... in fact, one of the best recipes we brew, my wifes recipe for northern english brown, was put together using that chart. :rocking:
and this is just my $.02, but if you're thinking grapefruit zest in an APA, i'm thinking amarillo and centennial hops. they'd go great with a li'l grapefruit zest. sounds like a winning spring/summer pale to me. :mug:

Great thanks for the added info. I have tried to research how much dme or lme to add for recipes and I have not found any information. Just want to understand how much to add when using grain. I will check out those guidelines.

A yooper eh? Very nice. I am down in southeast mi

it's a matter of recipe... generally your base malt, in your case DME/LME would make up around 80% of your total grain bill. the rest would be your specialty/steeping grains. there's also specialty extracts, like amber, dark etc. which already have some specialty malts in them.(usually in unknown to us amounts.)