Nottingham -> Imperial Stout

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sounds

Reaction score
Well first I'm doing a Scottish Export 80/- which is using the Nottingham yeast and was thinking about pitching the Imperial Stout right on top of the cake. I didn't see any specs for the Nottingham on optimal OG's and such, just temps. Any comments, suggestions, do's, dont's, etc? If I was to do this, should I use the whole cake? OG on the stout should be 1.085-89.

I'm relatively new to brewing, go easy :p

Check out

http://www.mrmalty.com/calc/calc.html

It will give you an amount of slurry to use for your repitch. Now I'm only going to say this because you are "relavively new to brewing"... Make sure you sanatize your collection vessel, get the proper amount of slurry, and the pitch it into a sanatized fermentor, then put your finished wort on top.

I don't use notty hardly ever, so I don't know even what webpage to send you for the specs, but if you check out morebeer's website, they might have it. I also can't comment on using notty for what styles, because I just don't know.

Thanks for the response. Following what you said do you think I should still make a starter with the slurry due to the high gravity or just pitch it? I could basically be ready to pitch the same time i rack the scottish export.

And this all assumes someone doesnt come in and say NO to using Nottingham for an imperial stout. I haven't used Nottingham at all yet so I'm not sure what kind of flavor it would add, if anything at all to such a heavy beer.

(1.) Don't make a starter. The trub (slurry) will contain more yeasties than you really need. If you use the mrmalty calculations, you'll still probably come up ahead.