2nd Batch Paranoia

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NewBrewML

Reaction score
Hi i'm new to kombucha making and this forum. i just finished my first batch of bucha (with lots of help from BK Kombucha's starter kit!) and now that i'm making my second batch without the starter ingredients, i feel like i took off the training wheels. I'm nervous because i threw away the mother SCOBY and kept the "baby" which looked pretty healthy. but now that i'm looking at it 24 hours later it looks different. it's all floppy. i used english breakfast tea that we had laying around and plain purified white sugar. I also just used tap water. is all of this okay? I feel kinda paranoid because i don't want to kill my scoby right off the bat. thanks!

IMG_0161.jpg

IMG_0162.jpg

Looks ok to me.
Ive made kombucha with pure spring water, organic loose tea and organic cane sugar and with chlorinated tap water, red rose teabags and bleached white table sugar.
I found no discernible difference in scoby growth or the end product taste.
Over time with lower quality ingredients, the yeast / bacteria balance can be thrown off and need some babying, but for your second batch I'd say you're ok

I am starting and it is my second day of brewing. So far in all my reading, they just mention tea (mostly black), sugar, and water. They do often mention 'distilled water.' I believe this is because distilled is the most flavor-less and germ free you can get. Keeping random bacteria and germs out of the kombucha as it ferments is really important.