Grapefruit IPA

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Adj1212

Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm fairly new to brewing (but my father has recently opened a brewery). Anyways I've brewed with him and his recipes but I am trying to fly the coup and see what I can do without the master.

I love Sculpin's Grapefruit IPA and would absolutely love to make something semi-similar. As with most IPA's the grain bill isn't overly important. I will be doing an extract version this time, for time sake, until I perfect this recipe.

This is what I got so far for a standard 5 gallon batch:

Grain Bill:
8 lbs extra light DME
1lb Munich
1lb caravienna
1.5lb crystal 15L
1lb corn sugar
.5lb multidextrine

Hop Schedule:

Beginning boil:
2 oz Soracha Ace
.5 oz Citra

Mid-boil:
1 oz Amarillo
1 oz Cascade

Flame-out:
1 oz Nuggett
1 oz Centennial
1 oz Citra
1 oz Galaxy

Dry-hop with:
2 oz Galaxy & 2 oz Simcoe for 5 days.

I thought about adding grapefruit zest in the dry-hop bag, but thinking I might forgoe that because I'll get enough grapefruit in the hops Ive selected. I'm learning about hops and alpha acids now, I'm thinking this will be about 85 IBUs and about 8% ABV. But my calculations for IBUs could definitely be a little off.

I'm rambling now but I know my hop profile is a little unique when looking at others recipes so any kind of feedback or suggestions are welcomed! Thank guys!

AJ

Please let me know how this turns out I love that sculpin and want to make a clone of it too

Grain bill is pretty cluttered up. I'd just do your DME and a half lb of crystal, especially since you don't seem to be mashing the Munich. And the sugar if you want to dry it out, I guess.