Seat of my Pants Cider (looking for feedback)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kanthalion

Reaction score
First off, Hi, all! I joined up a couple weeks ago, but I've just been lurking since then.

I am pretty new to the whole home brewing thing, but already I'm addicted. I have my first non-Mr. Beer 5 gallon batch of beer fermenting away and I just bottled my first cider today. The beer recipe is pretty straight up out of "The Complete Joy of Home Brewing," so I know it's gonna work just fine. (I did have this odd "barnyard" smell coming off of it at first which had me worried, but I read Rev's thread about just giving it time, so I'm not gonna worry.) The cider, on the other hand, I kinda winged. I did keep pretty detailed notes though, and that is what I am about to copy into this post for all to see. I'm looking for things I did right and things I did wrong and how I could make my next batch better.

Thanks.

Fel Slider Cider

Brew date: 3/3/12 Bottling date: 3/17/12 Expected first tasting: 4/7/12
2 Gallon Batch
1.072 Starting sp. gr. 1.004 Ending sp. gr.
8.8% ABV

2 Gallons Apple Juice
1c White Sugar
1c Dark Brown Sugar
2” Stick Cinnamon
5 Allspice Berries
4 Cloves
1 Packet Cote des Blancs Yeast

Bring 1 Gal of Juice with sugar in it to 170 Degrees. Add spice and hold there for 10 min. In meantime add 1 Gal of Cold Juice to fermenter. Remove Spices from Hot Juice and pour Hot into cold. When mixture is down to 70 degrees, add bloomed yeast.

3/5/12 Fermenting at a good clip

3/9/12 Bubbles have slowed down but still audibly bubbling.

3/10/12 1 Week. Still merrily fermenting along.

3/12/12 1.011 sp. gr. (7.9% ABV) Tastes of apple and has a good kick. I don’t really taste the spices, but maybe as it mellows with age.