Time to Upgrade...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HopheadNJ

Reaction score
So I've been thinking for awhile I'd like to take the plunge and step up to some all grain brewing. I've got some experience with extract + specialty grains and a couple small partial mash batches. Maybe a total of 20 batches or so under my belt. Some may say this is too soon to make the transition and I should perfect by PM/extract beers, but I like to do things "the right way" and to me, extract seems unnatural. I feel like AG is the way beer was meant to be brewed.

My extract brews have been good, some VERY good, but they have yet to compete with the delicious craft beers I love to drink!
So that aside, I've got some extra $$ from working all sorts of overtime the past month and want to upgrade my brewing equipment. As of now, I've been doing partial boils w/ a < 5 gallon pot, cool in the sink w/ ice, ferment, keg. I'd like to upgrade to be able to brew 5g finished batches for sure, maybe 10g if price permits! So I have a couple questions:

I know I need to buy a chiller...CF or immersion?

Obviously a new kettle... How big should I get if I wanted to do 5gallon finished batches AG? 10gallon batches?

Mash tun...I'm all for DIY, but I'd like to buy if I can find something nice and reasonable as my time is limited. What size (again for both 5g or 10g batches)?

What else do you recommend, what am I missing?