Grain and Process Question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Eskimo Spy

Reaction score
Isn't it a bad idea to boil grain, especially for more than 30 minutes? My understanding is that will give you a really harsh and tannin-like taste and a crappy mouthfeel. Maybe I'm wrong...

Is there anything wrong with my plan to steep crystal malt @ 150ºF for 20 minutes in the brewpot, then sparge the grains with a 1/2 gallon of water @ 150ºF? It's for a Magic Hat #9 clone, and it's my first attempt using grain and unhopped LME, so I need all the help I can get. The recipe and more questions are below, thanks!

-------------------

I'm trying to make a clone of Magic Hat #9, and this is my first attempt not using a hopped LME. I'm taking a few ideas here and there from several extract recipes. Above the recipe are my questions...

• Would you use corn sugar or DME to carb?

• The Wyeast was made 7July08, do I need to make a starter or smack three hours before and wait for the puff?

• Should I sparge the grains with 1/2 gallon @ 150ºF (once or twice?), or skip it?

• Do you add the pellet hops straight, or should I put them in cheese cloth? Does it matter?

(steeped in 1/2 gallon water for 20 mins. @ 150ºF)
1/2# 60ºL Crystal Malt

(Boiled for 60 mins.)
6.5# Pilsen Light LME
0.6# Bav. Wheat LME
1.5 oz. Tettnanger Pellets @ 4.3% AA

(Boiled for 15 mins.)
1/4 oz. Willamette Pellets for 15 mins
1/4 oz. Cascade Pellets for 15 mins
1 tsp. Irish moss

Wyeast 1056 American Ale Yeast

Ferment for 7 days @ 68ºF

(added in secondary)
3 oz. apricot beer flavoring

How does this look?