Is it ready to bottle?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

simonizmaster

Reaction score
Hi!
I am new to this home brewing stuffs. I am from Australia <Sydney> and I am making the basic brewing kit I got from the shop.
It's 'Coopers homebrew' and the beer ingredient I got is 'Irish Ale'.
1.7kg Coopers draught
1kg Coopers brew enhancer 1
300 grams Golden syrup

It's been in the fermenter for more than 2 weeks now. first week it was bubbling alot but no bubbles on second week. The room temperature is about 18(Celsius).
Now the instruction says I should bottle it when it is near 1.012 gravity ,however I am getting about 1.016 and do not think it's going to go down anymore. So I was wondering if I should bottle it or keep it for 1 more week.
Can any beer gurus tell me what I should do ?
thanks in advance

You will have a hard time hitting your final gravity with an extract beer. If you've tested it multiple times a few days apart and the gravity hasn't changed from 1.016, then you can bottle. One extra week in the fermenter definately won't hurt though. I usually leave my beers in the fermenter for at least two weeks after they finish fermenting. Bigger beers I leave for a few months.

If you have to ask if it's ready, it's usually not.

Let it sit another week if there's any question. It may go down, it may not, but it only gets better left alone. (To a point, but that's another thread)

You could also try giving the carboy a little rock to rouse the yeast a bit.

Thanks for your quick reply~!
I will keep few more days or even 1 more week and see if it can get any better.
I was just worried that, beer might go bad ,if I leave it in the fermenter longer.
Cheers for the advice~!