Cold Crashing...?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BrianTheBrewer

Reaction score
So I brewed my a Golden Ale/Kolsch almost two weeks ago now. It was a partial mash. I let the brew ferment for 8 days at 66 degrees then moved into my garage where the brew now sits at 40 degrees. I have heard this is called "Cold Crashing". Other people I have talked to have other names for this method. I am wondering what "Cold Crashing" actually does to the beer. Does it just break down the fermentation? Does it just clear the beer while still in fermentation? Should I use a secondary and if so why?

(I looked this up under the wiki and did not see anything)

This is my first time "Cold Crashing" and I am just trying to understand why this method works well when trying to make a Golden Ale/Kolsch.

Any info would be great, thank you.

- Brian

Typically cold crashing is used to clear the beer after fermentation is complete. You put the beer in a cold garage or refrigerator for a couple days which allows more yeast to fall out of suspension than if it remained at room temperature.

Between cold crashing and irish moss, my beers are pretty clear. Also a good time to add gelatin if you use that to clear up your brew.

Might be worth saying (and this is from experience) that cold crashing for extended periods isn't awesome for bottling. Yeast will drop out of suspension and your bottles may not carbonate properly.

Might be worth saying (and this is from experience) that cold crashing for extended periods isn't awesome for bottling. Yeast will drop out of suspension and your bottles may not carbonate properly.