help a total noob out... how do you read hydrometers?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

802VermontHomebrew

Reaction score
I did a reading on my stout... I have a #3001 BEER and WINE HYDROMETER (how its labled if that helps)... specific gravity is reading 2 dash marks below 1.000 4 dash marks below the 1.000 is the number 10 and every 4 dashes the number goes up another 10 so... 10, 20, 30 etc... all the way up to 100 and then restarts the count. If I follow the line over from where it was floating when I took my reading (2 dash marks below 1.000 its in the 1 bracket as far as alcohol precentage goes?) Do I need to divide? the wifes a math teacher lol and says if you divide it should be around 4% but not sure... both of us dont really know how to do hydro readings... (well at all so thats why I come to you guys for support lol)

i guess I answered my own question:

How to Read a Hydrometer
Submitted by: Bob Zormeir

Hydrometers are calibrated for readings at 60o but the adjustment between 60o and room temperature is minimal. To make your readings (and your ABV calculations) consistent the main thing is to always measure at the same temperature. To adjust the specific gravity reading for temperature differences, add +0.001 if you're measuring at 70o instead of 60o. Adjust by +0.002 at 77o. Adjust by +0.003 at 84o. Adjust by -0.005 at 50o. If want to just measure the alcohol, but you don’t care about the precise alcohol level, adjustments for temperature fluctuation is an area that easily lends itself to the "Relax, don’t worry, have a homebrew" rule.