Electric Burners

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rich711

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Hi All,

I am new to brewing and I am planning to start with small scale operations. My brewer friend has told me that I will need to boil about 3 gal of liquid to be able to make a 5 gallon carboy worth of beer. I am planning on conducting my brew operations in my basement and was planning on using an electric burner for heating.

I have found 3 burners that I thought might work for boiling the brew liquid.

• Waring Pro SB30 1300-Watt Portable Single Burner at Amazon
• Max Burton 6200 Deluxe 1800-Watt Induction Cooktop
• Cadco Portable 1500W Electric Single Burner HD Cast Iron Range

These 3 burners have a considerably larger power rating then most other portable burners.

I would think they would be sufficient for boiling 3 gal of liquid. Any replies regarding these products or general comments on using electric burners for brewing would be appreciated.

can all of these support the weight of your pot plus 3 gallons of wort safely?

Do you have just a household, kitchen stove? If you're not concerned about smells filling the house or taking up some kitchen space, partial boils on the scale of 2.5 - 3 gallons can just be done on the stove. I do 2.5 gallon boils, usually takes 15-20 minutes to get it boiling on a 10 inch burner on High. Just make sure to keep the lid on the pot, makes all the difference in the world!

I think he meant that you should leave the lid on until the water is boiling and before extract is added (assuming, of course, that you're not steeping grains first).

So use a lid if you want help getting the water warmer quicker, but once you add anything, don't cover.