WOW, did i mess up!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gedion

Reaction score
ok, so i got a recipe kit at a LHBS and set out to make an imperial stout. there were lots of hops(recipe and instructions below) in it and they came in multiple poorly marked bags. ok so im a noob, and in my head i thought that i wanted a more malty less hoppy beer. so i only added the first addition of hops to the boil, no other. thought id be good. but because the bags were poorly marked. im not sure which hop i used. months pass by and its about three weeks into the bottling period so i decided to crack one open to see how it is. smells fantastic! the first and after taste is amazing with lots of chocolaty notes in it, exactly what i wanted. but the middle, that taste you get while your actually drinking it is super, no its SUPER bitter. its very disappointing. im hoping it will mellow with age.
:(

6.6 lbs Gold Malt Extract
3.3 lbs Gold Malt Extract
1/2 lb. Choclolate Malt
1 lb. British Crystal Malt
3/4 lb. Black Patent Grain
1 lb. Roasted Grain
2 oz. Northern Brewer Hops
1 1/2 oz. Kent Goldings Hops
1 oz. Hallertauer Hersbrucker Hops
1/2 oz. Hallertauer Hersbrucker Hops
1 oz. Hallertauer Hersbrucker Hops
1 pkg. White Labs WLP004 Irish Ale Yeast

Raise 1 gal. water to 160oF then add all cracked grains. Stabilize grains at 155oF to 158oF for 30 to 45 min. Sparge with 170oF water. Add extract to this wort. Boil the wort for 1 hour adding 2 oz. of Northern Brewer at the beginning of the boil Kent Goldings 30 minutes into the boil and 1 oz. of Styrian Goldings 40 minutes into the boil. Add 1/2 oz. of Styrian Goldings for the final two minutes and dry hop the final 1 oz. Pitch yeast when below 80oF. Ferment at 68oF - 70oF.