Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > European Amber Lager > All-Grain - World's Best Oktoberfest

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2013, 02:36 AM   #81
Irishwrench
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 15

Enjoying the last 12 pack of this particular beer. It came out a lil over carbbed, but I just crack the cap and let it sit for 15 minutes and it is perfect. So far this is my favorite that I have created. Thanks for sharing. Planning on another creating batch in 2 weeks.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-27-2013, 05:01 PM   #82
TrickyDick
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 94 Times on 76 Posts
Likes Given: 30

Hey, thanks for posting this recipe!

I have never done a decoration mash before. What additional equipment do I need? I have a 3 vessel 15 gal, Brutus 10 type setup. I'd plan to decoct to the boil kettle with the hop filter and dip tube removed. It's a 15 gal and on the stand the top rim is at armpit level. I figure ill need a nice long handled 1-2 qt metal ladle ?

I've got no heat regulation on my burners, just all on or all off. Gonna need an "assistant brewer" that day for sure!!

Also, questions on the fermentation schedule. This was asked early on, and you replied that this was in the OP and in bold, but either I'm blind or its been edited.
Seems like you pitch at 50 and then what? Hold it there at 50 until it attenuated to 1.025-1.020 (roughly 80% of what you expect for full attenuation) then diacetyl rest at 58 (is this high enough?) then rack (still at 58?) and lager at 38, by slowly cooling after racking.

Questions on the mash. How long do you hold protein rest after you return the initial portion OD first decoction? 15min? Or 20min?
Second question on the mash. What temp do you shoot for on the saccarification rest after returning the next portion of the first decoction?