Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Should I keep my hydrometer in the primary?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-05-2009, 07:38 AM   #1
jining
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lynnwood, WA
Posts: 11
Default Should I keep my hydrometer in the primary?

Hello! I am new to homebrewing, my buddy and I just picked up a pretty decent kit from our local home brewing store (The Cellar in Seattle, WA).

We just got the wort in the primary today, we are attempting to make a light wheat ale, seems to be an easy beginner beer.

Anyways, just curious if I should keep the hydrometer in the primary, or continue to extract samples? Seems like more risk of contamination if I keep opening it and extracting samples.

Thanks for the help!

Aaron

__________________
jining is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-05-2009, 07:50 AM   #2
nealf
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hiram, GA
Posts: 1,352
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

Default

Once the yeast start going to town they will form a foam on the top which will definitely adhere to your hydrometer. Once they do that it will weigh it down enough to throw off your readings, not to mentions make it nearly impossible to read.

Just follow good sanitation processes when extracting samples for testing... I would wait a couple of weeks before testing anyway. Welcome to homebrewing!!

__________________
nealf is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-05-2009, 01:05 PM   #3
MikeG
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,020
Liked 8 Times on 7 Posts

Default

Neither, like nealf said you won't get accurate readings but also just leave the beer alone for three weeks. Before transferring the beer just take one reading and make sure the FG is where you expect it to be. Minimize messing with the beer.

__________________
MikeG is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-05-2009, 01:17 PM   #4
Laughing_Gnome_Invisible
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 12,090
Liked 513 Times on 394 Posts
Likes Given: 76

Default

+1. Just wait till you see that crud, you will soon see why it won't work.

PS remember this, your first post. A few brews down the line you will have a palm/forehead moment and wonder if you ever really asked this on your first post here. Enjoy it!

__________________

Last edited by Laughing_Gnome_Invisible; 03-05-2009 at 01:20 PM.
Laughing_Gnome_Invisible is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-05-2009, 01:20 PM   #5
david_42
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
david_42's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Willamina & Oak Grove, Oregon, USA
Posts: 25,651
Liked 134 Times on 127 Posts

Default

You can just leave the original sample in the tube & check that occasionally. It will finish faster than the fermenter, but can be interesting to watch. Just give it a good shaking before each measurement to de-gas it.

__________________

Remember one unassailable statistic, as explained by the late, great George Carlin: "Just think of how stupid the average person is, and then realize half of them are even stupider!"

"I would like to die on Mars, just not on impact." Elon Musk

david_42 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-05-2009, 01:22 PM   #6
SeamusMac
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 618
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

I was thinking about doing the same thing, but after my first batch I noticed how much krausen residue was left on the sides of the carboy and I decided it would be a bad idea ha ha.

With regards to wheat beers I don't even use a carboy, it goes from bucket to bottle in 3 weeks

__________________

Primary: Edwort's Apfelwein
Primary: Brewingcentres Pale Ale
Primary: Brewcraft - Cheap 'n' Shiddy Bavarian Wheat

Kegged: Brewcraft - Cheap 'n' Shiddy Bavarian Wheat
Kegged: Brewcraft - Enhanced Dutch Lager
On Tap: Brewcraft - Irish Stout

SeamusMac is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-05-2009, 01:24 PM   #7
nealf
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hiram, GA
Posts: 1,352
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SeamusMac View Post
With regards to any beers I don't even use a carboy, it goes from bucket to bottle in 3 weeks
Fixed that... and +1
__________________
nealf is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-05-2009, 04:04 PM   #8
Dionysos911
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 133
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jining View Post
Hello! I am new to homebrewing, my buddy and I just picked up a pretty decent kit from our local home brewing store (The Cellar in Seattle, WA).

We just got the wort in the primary today, we are attempting to make a light wheat ale, seems to be an easy beginner beer.

Anyways, just curious if I should keep the hydrometer in the primary, or continue to extract samples? Seems like more risk of contamination if I keep opening it and extracting samples.

Thanks for the help!

Aaron
I won't re-quote what everyone else. But I will say welcome and seems you and I both started at Cellars. Here's to Seattle brewin!
__________________
Dionysos911 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-05-2009, 11:08 PM   #9
Nurmey
I love making Beer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Nurmey's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 4,001
Liked 28 Times on 25 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default

Welcome to HBT!

If you break your hydrometer IN the carboy, you have ruined 5 gallons of beer and hydrometer break very easily. It's riskier to leave the hydrometer in the carboy than taking out samples.

__________________
Batch 1 Brewing
The American Revolution would never have happened with gun control.
Nurmey is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-06-2009, 12:47 AM   #10
jining
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lynnwood, WA
Posts: 11
Default

Ok! Looks like I will extract samples. I am planning to use a secondary so from what ive read, I will probably transfer in a weeks time or once it has stabilized.

Thanks again for the help!!!

__________________
jining is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Primary Bucket - Ok for extended primary fermentation? GonzoIllini Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 13 10-26-2011 02:08 AM
Taking Hydrometer sample during primary beutinbrew Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 21 05-25-2010 11:30 AM
Hydrometer Reading Directly in Primary? zinger084 Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 23 08-22-2009 05:45 PM
Hydrometer reading after transfer to primary loughbrew General Beer Discussion 3 05-10-2009 02:40 PM
question about checking hydrometer reading in primary chainsawbrewing Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 1 02-28-2007 11:00 AM