Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Should I keep my hydrometer in the primary?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-05-2009, 07:38 AM   #1
jining
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Should I keep my hydrometer in the primary?

Hello! I am new to homebrewing, my buddy and I just picked up a pretty decent kit from our local home brewing store (The Cellar in Seattle, WA).

We just got the wort in the primary today, we are attempting to make a light wheat ale, seems to be an easy beginner beer.

Anyways, just curious if I should keep the hydrometer in the primary, or continue to extract samples? Seems like more risk of contamination if I keep opening it and extracting samples.

Thanks for the help!

Aaron

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-05-2009, 07:50 AM   #2
nealf
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

Once the yeast start going to town they will form a foam on the top which will definitely adhere to your hydrometer. Once they do that it will weigh it down enough to throw off your readings, not to mentions make it nearly impossible to read.

Just follow good sanitation processes when extracting samples for testing... I would wait a couple of weeks before testing anyway. Welcome to homebrewing!!

Old 03-05-2009, 01:05 PM   #3
MikeG
Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 7 Posts

Neither, like nealf said you won't get accurate readings but also just leave the beer alone for three weeks. Before transferring the beer just take one reading and make sure the FG is where you expect it to be. Minimize messing with the beer.

Old 03-05-2009, 01:17 PM   #4
Laughing_Gnome_Invisible
Recipes 

Liked 513 Times on 394 Posts
Likes Given: 76

+1. Just wait till you see that crud, you will soon see why it won't work.

PS remember this, your first post. A few brews down the line you will have a palm/forehead moment and wonder if you ever really asked this on your first post here. Enjoy it!