Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > refrigerator or upright freezer

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-11-2011, 06:09 AM   #1
Dillinja666
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default refrigerator or upright freezer

so im looking to buy a used refrigerator or upright freezer. Which would be better to use with one of those cheapo temp controllers? Would the controller be able to control the freezers temp enough to not freeze my beer and shock my ale yeast? As you can tell im new to all this. I think i would mostly be making ales too, but of course that can always change.

thanks

i put this in the equipment section but i guess it should go here...

…The problem with Internet quotations is that many are not genuine. — Abraham Lincoln

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2011, 06:24 AM   #2
Ryush806
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 87 Times on 62 Posts
Likes Given: 21

Depending on the dimensions of the upright freezer, you might be able to get more carboys or buckets in it at one time. Some people worry about a freezer not being able to control humidity at fermentation temperatures. Lots of people have suggested Damp-Rid to combat any condensation. I'll let someone else tell you if that works.

I just use a spare fridge. It holds a max of two fermentors plus some bottles in the door. I'd honestly just go with whichever is cheaper.