Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Newbie here - Yeast question

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-29-2011, 06:54 PM   #11
jsweet
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 25 Times on 24 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrros7 View Post
very useful info guys. thank you. And while am at it, jsweet, is there a danger of too LITTLE yeast? or will it just reproduce anyway until it 'maxes' out (obviously, non-technical term )
Yes, absolutely. Underpitching can cause stressed yeast, off flavors, or even a stuck fermentation. Most people recommend MrMalty's pitch rate calculator: http://www.mrmalty.com/calc/calc.html

On my 3rd brew, I underpitched, and had a real hard time getting fermentation to complete. It was a pretty high gravity beer, though; most average gravity beers you won't have as much of a problem (mostly because it's harder to significantly underpitch).

So make sure you are pitching enough yeast. That's really important.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-29-2011, 06:55 PM   #12
Revvy
Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 2728 Times on 1636 Posts
Likes Given: 3485

in the 21st century there is no such thing as "lower quality" yeast. Even the stuff that is going to come with a mr beer or other kit is going to come from a very professional yeast lab. And since there's very few, even the ones from those kits are going to originate from Munton's or Coopers, or Fermentis, even if it's in an unlabled pouch.