New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > My first brew concern..

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2013, 05:06 PM   #1
scrapes
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Default My first brew concern..

My amber ale yeast beer has been in primary since 1/3, starting was 1.045, a reading at 1/13 was 1.022, today's reading (1/18) was 1.020. I moved to a secondary because I'm aiming for a clear beer, wife likes clear beer. Should I be concerned with the slowness of the reading? Or just chill and see what happens in a week?

i am an amateur

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2013, 05:17 PM   #2
homebrewdad
Recipes 

Liked 307 Times on 231 Posts
Likes Given: 224

A lot of extract brews get stuck at around 1.020.

Do be patient, maybe warm it up a bit, but it may never drop further.

Fermenting: nothing
Lagering: Swarthy Satyr (traditional bock)
Bottled: Royal Goblin (Hoppy Hobgoblin rendition), Treasure Type "T" (oatmeal toffee stout), Enchantress (big Irish red ale), Frostfire (Oktoberfest), Thundersmoke brown ale

Old 01-18-2013, 05:23 PM   #3
duboman
Recipes 

Liked 429 Times on 402 Posts
Likes Given: 199

Quote:
Originally Posted by scrapes View Post
My amber ale yeast beer has been in primary since 1/3, starting was 1.045, a reading at 1/13 was 1.022, today's reading (1/18) was 1.020. I moved to a secondary because I'm aiming for a clear beer, wife likes clear beer. Should I be concerned with the slowness of the reading? Or just chill and see what happens in a week?

i am an amateur